Der Schönes Spiel

As you must be aware by now,  the 2011 Women’s World Cup is going on right now in Germany.  As you also know, I often get up at random hours to watch soccer matches.  And after last Sunday’s U.S.-Brazil match, I think there will be a lot more people who will be doing the same.

I’m sure you’ve heard about THE GAME and THE GOAL.  How could you not?  The game was epic.  EPIC.  I laughed, I cheered, I jeered, I pulled my face in agony, I yelled at the screen, I yelled at no one in particular, I wrung my hands, I rejoiced, I cried, I did cartwheels.  Okay, I didn’t cry or do cartwheels, but I’m sure you get the idea.  Even if you’ve never been interested in soccer before, consider watching the replay of the entire game because this is the one match that embodies all that is great about the beautiful game.  Just make sure you have a good supply of beer.  You will need about 3 hours worth.  Otherwise, you can at least watch the highlights reel (beer still recommended).

After a drama-filled, gut-wrencher like that one, it’s hard to believe that wasn’t actually the final, that it was just the quarter-final.

Today was the day for the semi-final matches.  I woke up at 5:3o am to watch the U.S. semi against France, although kick-off wasn’t until 8:30 am.  This getting up 3 hours earlier than I need to thing is getting to be a bad habit.

I foresee France becoming a huge top contender in coming years.  They played a great game and at times totally outplayed the U.S.

Next up was the Japan – Sweden game.  As you may or may not know, Sweden beat the U.S. in the early stages of this World Cup.  That loss to Sweden lead to that epic match-up between the U.S. and Brazil in the quarter final.  Japan, in their quarter final with Germany, knocked out the hosts in a surprise upset.  (Is that redundant?  Are upsets always surprises?)

So it’s a U.S. – Japan final on Sunday.  Game starts at 11:45 am PT.  I’m going to be at Cafe Presse with my good friend Stella.  Come join us!

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

