PB&J

This has nothing to do with anything except a couple of Mays ago, I was in Amsterdam.  And I loved PB&J then and still love them now, although their latest album really isn’t as good as this one.

The other PB&J, not so much.  I have a theory, or perhaps belief is more accurate, that one has to be born in the U.S. in order to like peanut butter. That’s my excuse anyway.

Sparklepants, on the other hand, loves him some peanut butter.  I think, although I might need to fact check this, that peanut butter cookies are his favorite.  The reason I need to fact check this is because I can’t remember the last time I saw a peanut butter cookie in the house.  Since I don’t like them, I don’t make them, ‘cuz I’m not usually inspired to make stuff I know I’m not going to like.

But, for the last month, there have been 2 jars of peanut butter on a shelf in our refrigerator, and the duplication has been bothering me, so I put it on my “New Things To Use Up!” list, which lead me to make what I hope are SP’s favorite cookies.

And because I think I’m funny, I decided to make jam cookies too.  My previous encounters with jam cookies have all involved those dry thumbprint cookies filled with a dollop of sticky (and strangely, also dry) jam in the center which always look super cute but do not taste super cute.

Maybe these are the opposite.  Not as cute, but in my opinion, taste way better than they look, and the jam is incorporated in the dough.  SP wanted more of a jelly donut type of a cookie experience, but I liked them.  They really do taste like jam.  I just wish they had a little more color.

Coincidentally, the jam I used for the cookies is also on my “New Things To Use Up!” list – only because I don’t like the shape of the tub the jam is in.  I realize that makes me sound neurotic.  I don’t care.  Y’all can just eat my cookies!  (Does that make me sound surly?)

Peanut Butter Cookies

1-1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter (1 stick), room temperature
2/3 – 3/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup cane sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
Optional:  chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, or chopped peanuts
 
1.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment or foil.
2.  Whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a bowl.  Set aside.
3.  Beat butter until smooth.  Add peanut butter and mix well.  Add sugars and cream until light and fluffy.  Add egg.  Add flour mixture and mix until just combined.  Stir in chips or nuts if using. 
4.  Put a few tablespoons of sugar into a bowl.  Roll dough into 1-1/2 to 2 inch balls.  Roll in sugar.  Place on a cookie sheet and make a criss cross pattern with the tines of a fork.
5.  Bake at 350 for 12 minutes. 
 
Jam Cookies (recipe adapted from Dorie Greenspan)
 
2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick butter
2/3 cup sugar
1 egg
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup jam
 
1.  Preheat oven to 375F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment, foil, or silpat.
2.  Whisk together flour, baking powder, ginger, salt.  Set aside.
3.  Beat butter until creamy.  Add sugar and beat.  Add egg and beat for a couple of minutes until light and fluffy.  Add milk and vanilla and mix.  Add jam and mix briefly.  Add flour and combine until just mixed. 
4.  Using a regular spoon, drop spoonfuls of batter onto a cookie sheet. Bake 12 minutes. 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Food & Libations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PB&J

  1. Harley Fix says:

    The peanut butter that i always buy have some additional nuts in it and they taste great. ..

    My favorite web blog
    http://www.homeimprovementstuffs.com/ph-indicator-ph-papers/

Leave a Reply

