Working Like A Dog

I really don’t understand idioms.  I know I have a bit of an idiom handicap, but really, “working like a dog” doesn’t make any sense at all.  I think it’s supposed to mean that you work work work work work, but my dog?  Has never worked a day in her sweet dog-curly life.  Her idea of work is to think very seriously whether her afternoon nap will be on my bed or on the couch she’s supposedly not allowed to be on.  And come to think of it, I have never met a dog who is remotely deserving of having a phrase named after them.

Anyway, whatever, I’ve been working like someone else’s dog for this past week.  That’s the flip side of curling — long stretches of chill and then boom! it’s this frenetic pace of work work work work work.  I like it though, and I kind of even enjoy the giddiness that you get from not sleeping.

When I finally hit the send button on my project today, I lifted up my head from my computer, and looked outside for the first time in days.  And I saw the light.  Literally.  My dog saw it too.

It reminded me of a time when I wanted to have a picture taken like this once .  It was for a school picture in the 80’s and you could even get a second shadow of yourself in the corner.  All the cool kids got their picture taken like that.  I got a blue fake sky background with my adolescent glory on show in full bright lighting.

Did I just admit I wasn’t one of the cool kids?

I’m off to go work like my dog before I start to admit all sorts of things.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working Like A Dog

  1. soyajung says:

    also… do dogs really eat dogs?

  2. Pingback: Wastin’ Time | c u r l

Leave a Reply

