Salt Of The Earth

One of the best things about the curling lifestyle is not being tied to the alarm clock.  And if one might be getting up at 5 am, it’s because you want to, not because you have to go work for the man.

A couple of weeks before our locavore dinner, even though salt was on the exceptions list, I decided that I wanted local salt for our meal.  After I couldn’t find any locally sourced salt for purchase, the very very kind sous chef at The Herbfarm told me how they made theirs.  So, I dragged Sparklepants and the dogs out of a nice warm bed at the cracka to go collect 45 gallons of sea water.

It was really really foggy, but so peaceful and serene and kind of like a movie.  Maybe it’s because no one else was awake, and those who were awake would be going to work and not at a beautiful state park.

Luckily, there were no signs posted prohibiting the collection of seawater.

The water was so fresh, crystal clear and pure.  The tide was out, so I had to wade in a bit. Good thing the British invented Wellies.

I also like how they make my feet look bigger.

If deer had a front porch, this would be it.  I guess deer just like to watch the traffic go by too.

While we were going home, the fog burned off, so we decided to take a little detour to stop and smell the flowers (and get a snack).

I wish I had a charcuterie garland in my kitchen.

Sparklepants just plain liked this sign.

Around this time, we bought some local wine and cheese for our upcoming dinner and took the ferry home.

When we got home, we put two big pots of seawater on the stove.  After a couple of days the salt precipated out of the water.  Mounds of fluffly, pure white salt.

Salty and delicious.  And I was so proud.

Then my salt bubble popped.  Sparklepants asked me to really think about the environmental impact of making our own salt:  sure, it didn’t arrive on a jet, but . . . we did drive at least an hour to and from the ocean (in our non-fuel efficient car) and used natural gas to boil off the water as opposed to salt flats that just use the sun to evaporate the water.  Yeah, I might be willing to concede that local might not always be the most sustainable.

But it was still fun, dammit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salt Of The Earth

  1. soyajung says:

    i love your life.

  2. Scotn says:

    the salt was tasty. it tasted like, well, salt.

Leave a Reply

