Collins Family Reunion

All a collins is, is a couple shots of booze with fresh-squeezed lemon juice, a little simple syrup or castor sugar, topped off with soda water, and garnished with some fruit, traditionally an orange wheel and a maraschino cherry.  The recipe is a classic combination that goes well with almost any kind of booze.  It’s also the only drink that somehow was able to get a glass named after itself.

I usually think of the Collins with traditional base spirits, you know gin, vodka, whisky, etc.  But last weekend, I had an Angostura Collins at my new favorite bar.  It’s with a full 1.5 ounces of Angostura!  I was afraid it would be way too bitter (since it’s made with Angostura bitters after all), but it wasn’t.  It was a revelation.  So delicious.  I haven’t recreated it at home, and actually, I may leave that one to the experts since I have plenty to keep me occupied in the meantime.

Curl Nation’s Collins Guide

Tom Collins.  Tom is the first born of the family.  I can see why Tom is soooooo popular.  Exceedingly refreshing.

Ivan Collins.  If you just don’t like gin, substituting vodka provides the same refreshing sentiment.  But if you do like gin, the vodka-based collins is just going to taste a bit bland in comparison.

Michael Collins.  Ah, Bushmill’s.  Sparklepants said it feels like skipping school.  Personally, it makes me want to incite a revolution.  Right after I have a couple more.

The original Michael Collins

Liam Neeson

Speaking of revolutions, I decided to have a look at Michael Collins.  The problem with Hollywood is that I was a little surprised to find that Michael Collins doesn’t actually look exactly like Liam Neeson.  Or is it the other way around?  Has Liam Neeson always had such a big forehead?

John, Jim, Sean Collins aka Whiskey, Bourbon, and Scotch.  I tried them all.  And then for the sake of science, I tasted them again.  Confession:  at this point, I couldn’t really tell which was which, but I found them thoroughly enjoyable.  I would also think that any and all would be perfect as a cure for that summertime cold when you just can’t bear anything to drink anything without ice but want the restorative powers of a hot toddy.

Juan, Ron, & Pelé Collins.  Out of these 3 cousins, Pelé is my favorite.  And not just because I’m a soccer fan; cachaça just lends itself particularly well to the Collins.  Probably because the Pelé Collins is what amounts to essentially a smooth fizzy lemony variation on the caipirinha, Brazil’s national drink.  And if one drink can be claimed by 194 million people, it’s a winner.  The Ron Collins, made with rum is similar, and is a agreeable substitute if you’ve depleted your cachaça supply.  Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything.  Juan Collins made with tequila tastes kind of like a fizzy watered down margarita.

Brandi, Jacques, & Jack Collins.  People usually spell Brandi Collins with a “y” but I have a childhood friend named Brandi and so there you have it.  I have a picture of the 2 of us, we are maybe 6 or 7 and we’re kneeling in front of a bed of daffodils each holding a bright yellow fully bloomed daffodil in front of our chests.  I love that picture.  As you would guess, Brandi Collins is made with Brandy, Jacques Collins made with Cognac and Jack Collins made with Applejack.  Honestly, the cognac gets lost and you might as well not waste expensive cognac in a drink where fairly inexpensive brandy is just fine.

Kim Collins and Domo-kun Collins.  With soju and sake respectively. I prefer the soju as straight shots and the sake is a little weird this way.  But Domo-kun is so cute!

Phil Collins.  Needs no introduction.

Go ahead and sing-a-long.  You know you want to.

This entry was posted in Food & Libations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

