Flyin’ High in the Friendly Sky

Holla! First Mate here, reporting from my post at Curl Nation. I’m happily snuggled back into my own bed, albeit a bit crumpled from three weeks of life in a suitcase. I’ve been to California and South Korea and New York… I’ve been to paradise, but I’ve never been to me. Sorry, cheesy ’80s song reference. The point is, it’s good to be home.

There were lots of highlights — meeting with brilliant and inspiring thinkers in the racial justice movement, drinking and karaokeing in Seoul with my brother and cousins, reuniting with old friends/comrades, and singing with a live jazz band for the first time in my life! It happened at Cleopatra’s Needle in New York City. Definitely check it out if you ever find yourself on the Upper West Side. Amazing musicians and great people. See? You can work and curl at the same time!

Meanwhile, back at Curl Nation, things like this were happening.

I finally got back home in the middle of the night, after 19 grueling hours of travel. But the next day? Seafood City!


And now, the curling has resumed in all its glory. Everything is as it should be. Of course, until tomorrow, when apparently the world is ending.

But I’m trying to stay positive…

You gotta count your blessings, right? One of the things I love to do when I’m traveling is to take photos from the airplane.

It reminds me of one of my favorite Marvin Gaye songs, “Flyin’ High in the Friendly Sky” off the seminal 1971 album “What’s Goin’ On.” Here’s an earlier version that I like, for its simplicity. It’s titled, “Sad Tomorrows.” Maybe it’s more fitting. All you hear is that haunting, soaring falsetto.

The song is about heroin addiction, and yet it is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard. Beauty and heartbreak so often go together, don’t you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

